top of page


The title of this work, Febesa, refers to the four notes it is based on: F, E, Bflat (BES in Dutch) and A. At the beginning of the work, the sound of these notes creates a mysterious, extraordinary atmosphere. The work slowly builds from the low brass as the thematic torch is handed to the woodwind section and this leads into a grand tutti. In a tonal and refreshing allegro, the febesa-theme now has a more harmonic role. After this passage, the symmetric form of the work brings us back to the mysterious atmosphere of the introduction, with solos for euphonium, oboe and flute.

Febesa - F. Ceunen

Concert Band:

Fanfare Band:

bottom of page