The title of this work, Febesa, refers to the four notes it is based on: F, E, Bflat (BES in Dutch) and A. At the beginning of the work, the sound of these notes creates a mysterious, extraordinary atmosphere. The work slowly builds from the low brass as the thematic torch is handed to the woodwind section and this leads into a grand tutti. In a tonal and refreshing allegro, the febesa-theme now has a more harmonic role. After this passage, the symmetric form of the work brings us back to the mysterious atmosphere of the introduction, with solos for euphonium, oboe and flute.

Febesa - F. Ceunen
00:00 / 00:00

Echo of the Phoenix

2020, september 1st

Mamma Mia!

2020, august 26th


  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music."


- Gustav Mahler -

© 2020 All Rights Reserved - filipceunen.com - filip.ceunen@gmail.com - +32478660828